Welcome to the reboot

It’s been a minute. So much has happened, so much has changed, and it isn’t slowing down. I wanted to capture what I see going on, where I think it’s headed, why it matters and use historical context to connect those dots. Because history repeats. And because we humans have a bad habit of not learning the lessons. Welcome to the intersection of geopolitics, security, economics and environmental issues where the synergy of multiple factors influences outcomes.

Like it’s done to so many, 2022 used up my reserves and I’ve been running on empty. Our collective mental health has taken a beating. So let me state this clearly:

your health matters most.

When I hit that wall – hard- in July, I told my boss I was in crisis and needed August off. Use my PTO, unpaid leave, just give me the time to step away and heal. I know I’m lucky to have had time to use. That I could afford it. I also knew August wasn’t going to miss me at work and I put things in order before I left. The takeaway here is that rest is powerful medicine, especially when you have people you love close by, and some tranquil natural surroundings to soothe the psyche. We all need to recharge, and it is good to press “pause”. Ideally sooner rather than later.

And on that encouraging note, I end with this grim observation. Buckle up. We’re in for a rough ride ahead.

I've said my piece. Now say yours!